Month: August 2006

  • i'm back at school, and it feels as though summer never existed. it's hard to believe that just last friday i was at work, editing reports and talking with foreign service officers. i kind of miss the office, but really i miss the people. they were admirable, inspiring, even if i'm not sure that i want to do that work for the rest of my life.


    now school has resumed, and i'm already up to my neck in homework. ah, wheaton professors. they couldn't let us ease back into life here. instead, they had to WHAM hit us over the heads with readings, essays, the works. the presentation of the syllabus is always a little depressing; we hear all at once all that is expected of us for the next eight to sixteen weeks.


    the greatest blessing by far has been having my parents here to help move me into my apartment. they worked SO HARD to help me settle in, and i don't know how i would have done it without them! my roommates and i spent six hours yesterday decorating the apartment. trust me when i say that you wish you lived here. one of my roommates is from togo, the other from the virgin islands, plus my own cross-cultural past. it's a pretty sweet apartment. my parents left this afternoon. rach, i've sent them to you with a beautiful fridge just for you and julie and katie.


    right now, i wish i were on a beach...in the caribbean...heidi, jade, dan, and aaron, i can't wait until the end of the semester! =]

  • just five days left at State Department. i really can't believe that these ten weeks are coming to a close. i cannot possibly summarize the experience, but i know without a doubt that the best parts had to do with people. the office employees showed such an interest in the lives and futures of every intern, and i learned so much about their journeys to the present and plans for the future. one thing i've learned: every journey is unique. every IRF employee reached that position by a different path, whether it be law, education, the military, or even medical science. it's been great, but i am kind of excited about going back to school and seeing friends...though i want to curl up in the fetal position in the corner of my room when i think about homework and papers.


    this is as superficial a post as you'll ever get. my apologies, but i don't have much energy to write more. i actually went to bed at 8:30pm one night this last week. i blame it all on my commute.