December 24, 2006

  • i am watching "A Christmas Story," that bit of american iconography that is an experience akin to coming home. (just finished the scene in the chinese restaurant. classsic!) it's a great experience to have as i miss germany and feel separated from so much of what i've traditionally (and not always correctly) associated with the christmas season. it's probably good for me. what happens to my christmas when it's seventy degrees outside in a country i'm still not used to? my christmas shouldn't disappear. christmas shouldn't change just because my environment does.

    went to a lovely christmas eve service tonight. the music was bad, the congregation decidedly graying and wrinkled, but the Lord spoke. it was beautiful. God became flesh. the pastor reminded the congregation that Jesus was God, but he was completely human, something with which we're not always comfortable.

    and in this season, as i am surrounded by my family, i also miss my "other family," the residents of michigan 709 and the community and support and encouragement and laughs and meaning they've added to my life this year. without them, the semester would have been in black and white -- you guys make life technicolor! =]

Comments (4)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment