Month: December 2006

  • i am watching "A Christmas Story," that bit of american iconography that is an experience akin to coming home. (just finished the scene in the chinese restaurant. classsic!) it's a great experience to have as i miss germany and feel separated from so much of what i've traditionally (and not always correctly) associated with the christmas season. it's probably good for me. what happens to my christmas when it's seventy degrees outside in a country i'm still not used to? my christmas shouldn't disappear. christmas shouldn't change just because my environment does.

    went to a lovely christmas eve service tonight. the music was bad, the congregation decidedly graying and wrinkled, but the Lord spoke. it was beautiful. God became flesh. the pastor reminded the congregation that Jesus was God, but he was completely human, something with which we're not always comfortable.

    and in this season, as i am surrounded by my family, i also miss my "other family," the residents of michigan 709 and the community and support and encouragement and laughs and meaning they've added to my life this year. without them, the semester would have been in black and white -- you guys make life technicolor! =]

  • an amendment to that commune idea, after chatting with kevin: we need two apartments instead of one house, and one of the apartments need to be purple.

  • it seems somehow fitting that my last post was in the midst of one of the most hellish midterms/finals weeks of my college experience. this one comes two days after another finals week -- this one at the end of my last fall semester at wheaton. i never imagined i'd grow attached to wheaton, or be truly sad at the thought of leaving, or be less than excited about entering the work force. well, in fact, life surprises me yet again. i don't know that i'm attached to wheaton the city or the college, but i cannot begin to describe the prescious friendships that have taken me by surprise this semester. i'm just irrational enough to dread spring semester's commencement because i'll be so sad to begin the end of it all.

    we joke about forming a commune after college. i don't think anyone is remotely serious except for me. when you've experienced overseas missionary communities and know that it's possible to make a family out of friends, suddenly something like friends becoming family doesn't seem that crazy. ah, to experience a perfect world. i'd love to be around for my best friends' weddings and new births and to be an aunt to their kids. at least there are some possibilities for roommates next year.

    by the way, please don't ask me what i'm doing after college. when i know, i'll tell you. i promise.