July 15, 2006

  • it’s so easy to push the past away, and to forget everything in light of the future. some of you who know me better will laugh at the irony of me being lost in the future. aren’t i the girl who constantly fights with dwelling in the past? i think DC, or maybe internships in general, have ways of pushing us into the future. i mean, this entire summer, everything talks about MY internship, MY connections, MY plans, MY graduation…it’s easy to get sucked up into that. part of me feels it’s a necessary evil. i have to make decisions at some point; i must start thinking of the future. and in DC, it’s kind of easy to get excited about the future. the city is young, mobile, moving up and out and doing amazing things. there are so many people to meet and hands to shake and names to learn. and then there are slow days like today, where i spend time procrastinating from homework by visiting the old bfa site…did that actually happen? was i ever really a student at bfa? it seems worlds away. i thought i’d never, ever get over the pain of leaving there for the first time. grad was the absolute hardest 48-hours of my life. and when i go back, i am still reminded of the pain…but it’s not the same. it almost scares me that i can become so swallowed in a place like this, because this place is so self-serving. it feels like a disease that’s eating away at so many young adults. do they realize how unhappy they are? the cases of alcoholism are innumerable in this city.


    i spend my days reading about religious freedom violations. one of my intern friends spends her days reading about human trafficking. Dear Lord, what have we become? i long for the world to be completely redeemed. all of creation is groaning…

Comments (7)

  • I can’t imagine how it feels to be in your last year (not to rub it in..)

    I’m freaking out just thinking about how I’m a year away from being in my last year, heh.

    This world is a bloody mess. Some people never realize it. Some people realize it, and hide from the truth to ease the pain. Some people see it all, and help to bring about reconciliation, being the peacemakers God so blesses.

    Come Lord Jesus.

    (And completely unrelated, and also comparably unimportant, I’m in DC this wed/thurs. I’m gonna go see Pirates of the Carribean with Stephen Powell one of those nights. Let me know if you would like to come see it with us!)

  • Thanks, beautiful Sarah…Steve’s email address is webmaster@bfacademy.com thanks for updating and for helping us out with alum info and keeping connecting.  How is your family doing? It was wierd to be working up at Sonne and not see your parents there…sigh.  Hope your summer is still going well…hey, you may really enjoy connecting with Laura McAdams’ brother Mark, who is also at Wheaton.  He also worked at the White House before going to Wheaton…I am sure you two could find lots to talk about and he loves Germany too.  love ya, Renee

  • Oops, sorry I just read your entry and had to say again I love you and thank you for being willing to be a light in an important place like DC!  I am confident that the Lord will use all your experiences from life in Uzbeck through time at BFA, Wheaton and on into the exciting unknown future!!!  Keep holding onto the Author and Finisher of your faith and keep singing and dancing!  “Dance like David danced”!  Hey I know that Jon Pentacost is transitioning there at George Washington Univ.  maybe you could connect with him or give him a word of encouragment like a big sister if you have time.  His xanga is Cats and Catchup or something.  Hugs and love, Renee

  • groaning too…

  • I’ll  let you know for sure. maybe later this week….?

  • Many hearts sent your way =)

  • And when you think about it, DC is just the place where symptoms of the disease are perhaps more clear.

    This generation needs Jesus pretty darn bad.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *