July 22, 2006

  • i can't believe it, but i just finished my last internship journals for my internship credit. these last five were soooo hard to write. but now they're finished, and i have to do the awful task of looking at my syllabus and figuring out when my paper is due. ugh.


    in other news...i think i've decided (if such a thing can be decided) that working at State is not the thing for me. maybe nothing in DC is the thing for me. the city is so fun, and i love seeing the sights...but working here? i'm not sure. granted, i have a longer commute than most people, and dressing up every day is fun and all, but i don't know if i could do this for even a year. i'm thinking -- i don't know what i'm thinking. i don't want to barf my thoughts for the future all over xanga. but i am thinking, and i'm getting a little excited, actually. graduating is definitely frightening, but it'll also force me to live outside of studying and classes. i can't wait to attend graduate school one day, but one day in a couple of years.


    and yes, fine, the journals have helped formulate some of these thoughts, even though they've been by far the worst part of this internship. i wish i just had time on the weekends to see DC instead of doing homework, but they have also forced me to think through some things. shhh, don't tell the polsci/ir department.

Comments (2)

  • Blog regurgitation aside, I think that you might like DC a whole lot more if you weren't juggling school at the same time. Imagine doing your job for an extended period, say, two years, then heading off to grad school in a specialized area that intrigued you on your job. Not to worry, I won't tell your PolySci folks what you're wrestling with...

  • Can't wait to visit you in D.C.  We should probably take Rachel to see the: Washington Monument, Abe, Thomas and of course the Capitol Building.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment